tjarbeaux

Short Reads to Stimulate Long Thoughts

SELF-LIFE vs CHRIST-LIFE

SELF-LIFE vs CHRIST-LIFE

Philippians 3:10that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death;

Self-Life is not life apart from Christ. Self-Life is thinking that self can contribute to what Jesus wants to accomplish. It is doing my best to show, prove, or contribute to the cause of Christ without really relying on the uniqueness of being “IN CHRIST and HE IN ME.

What would I rather give to Jesus:

        A life of: lying, cheating, faithlessness, ego, etc..

        A life of: faithfulness, righteousness, holiness, honesty, etc., etc..

What does Jesus want from me?

        He wants my: sin, unrighteousness, etc., etc..

        He wants to give me: faithfulness, righteousness, holiness, – He wants to give me Himself.

My best is as filthy rags.

When I think that I can offer God or the world anything other than Jesus, then I am lead into a Self-Life which settles for a false religious life rather than a vibrant intimacy of Oneness with Jesus.

My first and foremost responsibility is to seek to KNOW and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings – for the sake of intimacy with Jesus. I so often seek Jesus only to have a “ministry” which is in reality a seeking of Jesus to get rather than to enjoy His presence.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

