tjarbeaux

Short Reads to Stimulate Long Thoughts

The Law and Jesus – Romans 4

A Response to Law and Grace – Romans 4

The Law is good because it demonstrates the necessity of Grace. The Law could only reveal the weakness of my flesh while Grace emphasized the power of Jesus’ Grace. The Law still stands as a flood light with its beam firmly fixed on Grace in Christ Jesus.

Grace is empowered by Jesus where as the Law rests on the power of my flesh – I CHOOSE JESUS AND HIS GRACE over the Law and it demands!

I cannot do away with the Law, for to do so would mean that Jesus’ Life, Death, Resurrection, Ascension, and Promised Return would be null and void. Jesus verified the Holiness of the Law by meeting its demands – if the Law had not been significant then Jesus would not have needed to do what He did.

The Law emphasizes my need for Jesus while Jesus demonstrates the significance of the Law by fulfilling its demands.

Jesus, did not say to me, “Forget about the Law and trust Me.” but rather, “My Sacrifice has fulfilled the Holiness of the Law, that the weakness of your flesh could not do, Trust My Grace by becoming One with/in Me through Faith.”

So I did! In May of 1963 Jesus and I became One and Our journey has been worth every pot hole, flat tire, steep climb, valley depth, and we have grown through every shared tear, pain, laughter, joy and heartache. We survived every attempt to separate, derail, detour, or distract us from Our growing in intimacy with each other.

I died that May to the world, flesh, and Satan but they did not die to me and they have and are still doing their best to influence my Relational Intimacy with Jesus but the power of Jesus’ Grace and Truth continues to hold them at bay.   Yes, I hear them barking, and at times my eyes are diverted, my mind distracted, my emotions fearful, and my responses fleshly.

Then Jesus takes over with the Power of Grace and Truth reminding me of that long ago afternoon when We shared in Our Birth of Oneness.

He reminds me that I am still in need of His Grace:

– NOW, as much as I was THEN

– that Our Oneness hasn’t changed

– it is still based on His Grace and not the power of my flesh

– praise God I am perfected In Christ, by GRACE, through Faith.

tjarbeaux

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

