tjarbeaux

Short Reads to Stimulate Long Thoughts

In the Written Word with the Living Word – Isaiah 3

Tuesday – August 25, 2015

Isaiah 3 (NASB)

24 Now it will come about that instead of sweet perfume there will be putrefaction;
Instead of a belt, a rope;
Instead of well-set hair, a plucked-out scalp;
Instead of fine clothes, a donning of sackcloth;
And branding instead of beauty.
25 Your men will fall by the sword
And your mighty ones in battle.
26 And her gates will lament and mourn,
And deserted she will sit on the ground.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Father, Your have provided for me a life style that is pleasant, enjoyable, relatively safe, filled with stuff, gadgets, homes, conveniences, big boy toys, leisure, income, clothes, food, TV, Radio, I could go on and on listing things You have provided and make a similar list of THINGS I still desire … .

Are You trying to tell me that I have fallen in love with and pursue them more than I love and pursue You? Are You telling me that what I have and want is going to be taken away and all I’ll have left will be ashes?

But You said; Trust in the Lord and do good;
Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the Lord;
And He will give you the DESIRES of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him, and He will do it. Ps. 37

“Yes, I did! I did not say I would give you the desires you want. I said I would place My desires on your heart and you ignore them for the sake of fleshly excitement, pleasure and communal status. Yes, I will strip you of these things. Start now distinguishing the difference between your fleshly desires and My desires and know that I am not talking about evil and holy; I am talking RELATIONAL. You do know the difference, don’t pretend you don’t.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

