tjarbeaux

Short Reads to Stimulate Long Thoughts

In the Written Word with the Living Word

Friday – September 18, 2015 – QT

Isaiah 7 (NASB)

Now it came about in the days of Ahaz, the son of Jotham, the son of Uzziah, king of Judah, that Rezin the king of Aram and Pekah the son of Remaliah, king of Israel, went up to Jerusalem to wage war against it, but could not conquer it. When it was reported to the house of David, saying, “The Arameans have camped in Ephraim,” his heart and the hearts of his people shook as the trees of the forest shake with the wind.

Then the Lord said to Isaiah, “Go out now to meet Ahaz, you and your son Shear-jashub, at the end of the conduit of the upper pool, on the highway to the fuller’s field, and say to him, ‘Take care and be calm, have no fear and do not be fainthearted because of these two stubs of smoldering firebrands, on account of the fierce anger of Rezin and Aram and the son of Remaliah.

“My people, I am on the Throne, I hear the murmurings of those who oppose My ways. Listen to Me!”

1 Thessalonians 5:16 Always be joyful. 17 Always keep on praying. 18 No matter what happens, always be thankful, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

Father, do You expect me to be joyful and thankful as often as You want me to talk You?

Do I really believe that prayer back in our schools will save America? Do I we really believe morality will make people right with God?

Do I really believe that Godliness can be legislated?

Jesus alone SAVES.   He alone makes me righteous.  Only the Father can draw people to Jesus.

We often live and talk as though Jesus is simply our religious Icon. He is a star to which we can hitch our wagon and things will turn out alright and He will fill our wagon with all the stuff we desire. In reality we are more interested in our wagon and the stuff in it than we are in intimacy with Jesus.

So what will cause us not to fear? What will change America?

Our lives lived with Jesus! I in Christ and Christ in me; Jesus not an icon or a rabbit’s foot, but God, Savior, King, Brother, Friend, Partner. Daily intimacy, daily communication (prayer), daily submission to Our life lived together with Jesus; Jesus as real as my wife, our sons, our daughter, our grandchildren, and the people that I live around. I must cultivate a relational intimacy with Jesus that governs my attitude, words, and actions.

How do I do that?

“Start by wanting intimacy with Jesus more than the wagon and the stuff; want it with all your heart, your soul and your mind; no matter the cost to your flesh.”  

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

