tjarbeaux

Short Reads to Stimulate Long Thoughts

In the Written Word with the Living Word

Sunday – September 20, 2015 – QT

Isaiah 7 (NASB)

10 Then the Lord spoke again to Ahaz, saying, 11 “Ask a sign for yourself from the Lord your God; make it deep as Sheol or high as heaven.” 12 But Ahaz said, “I will not ask, nor will I test the Lord!”

************************************

Ahaz basically said: “I do not need more than Your Word to prepare, plan, and execute what You have already said for me to do.”

Oh, that I could say the same on a daily basis.  

Faith is trusting in God’s revelation; risking by responding with obedience; on the basis of relational intimacy with Jesus, Father, and Spirit.

Is. 7:9 …You don’t believe me? If you want me to protect you, you must learn to believe what I say.”

Why, when God reveals to me to have a particular response for the sake of my protection and I choose to do the opposite – do I get angry at Him for allowing me to suffer the consequences of my response?

That’s because I have shifted from having faith in God to having faith in faith. Faith never accomplishes anything other than to release credit to God for what He is doing or has done. (I shall review Heb.11 with this in mind)

Faith and Prayer are meant to give credit to God for His accomplishments and to reveal our dependence on Him. We so often use faith and prayer to bring credit to ourselves – listen to what is said today in Christian circles about the person who prays and exercises faith – are we giving credit to God or the individual? We say both, but in reality, I say we lie – we give credit to man and prayer and faith are perceived as the POWER of MAN to MOVE GOD.

Father, remind me to not neglect prayer or the exercise of faith because of those who abuse, and do not let me join their ranks. I tend not to pray or trust because of the examples of fleshly-motivated brothers and sisters. Yes, I end up blaming You for not revealing this wickedness to the Body – so I sit in my chair, basking in self-righteousness typing and thinking – not much different from my brothers and sisters am I.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

