tjarbeaux

Short Reads to Stimulate Long Thoughts

In the Written Word with the Living Word

Isaiah 10 (NASB)

Woe to those who enact evil statutes
And to those who constantly record unjust decisions,
So as to deprive the needy of justice
And rob the poor of My people of their rights,
So that widows may be their spoil
And that they may plunder the orphans.
Now what will you do in the day of punishment,
And in the devastation which will come from afar?
To whom will you flee for help?
And where will you leave your wealth?
Nothing remains but to crouch among the captives
Or fall among the slain.
In spite of all this, His anger does not turn away
And His hand is still stretched out.

**********************************************

Father, why is it we Your people can get so caught up in our OWN fleshly living; that we can feel sorry for the widow and do nothing, have compassion for the orphan and live as though a ‘stuff’ gift now and then is sufficient to dismiss any personal involvement.

How is it we blame the unrighteous for the ills of our community and believe You will bring them to account but as for us we can sit, stand, learn Your Word and worship You, without feeling a need for personal change?  It seems we sit in judgment of our society, in self-righteousness, and arrogance we communicate – “if everyone would just live and believe like I do… .”

So we (I) must face the fact that we (I) will ‘crouch among the captives or fall among the slain’. Because as a whole we His people are negligent of a personal intimacy with Jesus that allows us to be One with Him.  We ignore His presence when it inconveniences. “After all I’m just human.” “There are privileges that come with being a child of the King.”

We have made several gifts of the Spirit Professional Offices.

I’m too busy to visit the widow, encourage the orphan, read the Bible, talk to my neighbor about Jesus, work with the homeless, go to prisons, visit nursing homes, pray with the shut-ins, walk the halls of the hospitals – no Jesus wouldn’t want me to do these things.

Yet I eke out time to play golf, go fishing, watch sports for 4 hours at a time, take vacations, buy autos, boats, four wheelers, skis, matching clothes, attend concerts, – when is the last time I visited the sick, the last time I told a non-Christian how much Jesus loved them, when is the last time I read my Bible to hear from Father, Son and Spirit just for me, when is the last time I … Oh, I just remembered I don’t have to; it’s no longer my responsibility; it is my Pastor’s JOB. We His people have hired him to do it for us.  As result, we His people, have a reckoning day coming and it will not be a slap on the wrist.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

